top of page
Cerca
  • Immagine del redattoreAgata Maugeri

Meet underwater cameraman Lennart Rossenfeld

Hello Shark people! This week I have the pleasure to publish the interview with a young and talented cameraman Lennart Rossenfeld. I am happy to share his story, because despite his young age, Lennart has incredible skills as cameraman and diver and he is able to shoot amazing images of sharks all around the world. So, let's discover more about shark filming.


Photo courtesy Lennart Rossenfeld


  • When did you first start to be interested in sharks and what is your background (photography, biology, etc)?

I think my big big passion for sharks started a long time ago. My parents are very passionate divers. So they have had lots of diving books at home. My favourite one was always a book full of sharks (still got it in my office). So as I started diving 13 years ago I always wanted to see sharks. I also think that if you are a passionate diver you have a passion for sharks in your DNA because you know how rare they are and how beautiful.

My background? Puh… hm… As I said I'm a scuba diver since 13yeras. 4 years ago I started to go to film school because next to diving, photographing and filming was also a big passion to me. Since I can remember I dived with a camera. So I became a professional underwater cameraman. I work for my own projects “FeedYourDreams” and for german broadcasters. Right now I'm doing an underwater live stream where you can chat to an underwater archaeologist. That's super cool! haha.


Photo courtesy Lennart Rossenfeld


  • You spend a lot of time underwater close to these animals, do individuals have different “personalities” (i.e. shy, aggressive, curious,...)

Yes, every shark or other fish has its own personality. Some are very curious and come close to you, others are kinda shy. You always have to “read” the animal and figure out in a very short amount of time how these animals are working. Otherwise, it's getting dangerous or frustrating. I never dived with an “aggressive” shark. I did dives where sharks came very very close to us and bumping us. But that was because the sharks were feeding. I shot a scene while blue sharks were feeding a baitball… man these sharks can go crazy. But that's why they are at dinner time. I also would go crazy if somebody interrupts me during my first meal after a long time.



Photo courtesy Lennart Rossenfeld


  • What’s the message you want to spread to raise awareness on shark conservation through your videos and pictures?

Don`t be afraid of sharks but also don't think they are harmless!

Photo courtesy Lennart Rossenfeld



Sharks are very good hunters, so I would never say it's not dangerous to dive with sharks! The Ocean really needs them. If they're gone the ocean and also we have dramatic problems. So it's very important to understand their important rule for the ocean. But I also want to show that these beautiful animals are not the dangerous beast from “Jaws”. If you follow the rules of shark diving it's so much fun spending time with then the water. Better see them alive underwater then dead at the fish market.



  • You have the chance to travel all around the world to see sharks, do you think that from your beginning in wildlife photography to now, sharks’ sightings have been decreasing?


Photo courtesy Lennart Rossenfeld



That is hard to say… I can say that the number of sharks is going down dramatically! I have had lots of talks with very experienced divers who have been diving for a very long time. They told me: In the past, we had several sharks here and here… today you have to be a very lucky person to see a shark alive which is very shocking to me. There are a few places in our world where you have very good chances to see sharks because it's a protected area. At a normal dive, the chance to see a shark is very low. But! COVID 19 is not only a bad thing! On my trip to the Azores this year we found out that the number of sharks is rising again. That's why because of the missing fishing vessels and missing tourists… so the ocean strikes back!

Photo courtesy Lennart Rossenfeld


  • What suggestion would you give to people interested in working with sharks especially in photography and cinematography?


Never dive alone, always have an eye to the shark you are filming or photographing, respect the animal and the distance to the shark.

You will never get a close-up shot of a shark if you swim straight into the sharks face. Wait for them to come.

Stay calm, think about what you do and enjoy the moment.



Do not forget to follow Lennart on Instagram by clicking here to see stunning pictures as well as his website project www.feedyourdreams.de and the IG page.




151 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti

Dreaming a carrier surrounded by Sharks?

September has come any many of are starting working and school again, looking maybe for new opportunities. This article is the youngest dreaming to work one day into sharks field. I would like to shar

Post: Blog2_Post
  • Instagram

©2020 di Dakuwaqa. Creato con Wix.com

bottom of page